Which YA Books Will Students Be Reading This School Year
posted by: Melissa | August 28, 2018, 03:07 PM   

Long gone are the days when books were clearly divided between Children’s and Fiction literature. The Young Adult genre now has a permanent place in our book stores, libraries and schools. Its rise is tied to the popularity of both series and single novels with captivating, timeless characters and riveting plots that attract teens and adult readers alike.


The genre is also home to works of fiction that take literary risks, explore serious themes, and break new ground. Every year, there’s a new stream of YA works that get passed around the halls from one student to another. So, which books are you likely to see your students diving into this year? Here are some of our predictions for their must-reads and pass-around favorites.


The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

The Belles was one of the most hyped books of the year before it finally debuted in February, and it continues to entrance teen girls. The Belles’ protagonist Camellia has the ability to create beauty in a world where people are born grey. As the story progresses, she learns that ugliness often resides behind outer beauty and that she has more power than she previously knew. The book has already won a host of awards and will likely be one of the most read novels of this upcoming school year – in anticipation of book number two of the series releasing in March, 2019.


The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince is the first book in a new fantasy trilogy by bestselling author Holly Black and builds on her extremely popular previous works. Its plot is fast moving and full of the action that her readers can’t get enough of. This series opener is packed with dark intrigue of the High Court of the Faerie. Need we say more?


People Like Us by Dana Mele

People Like Us is a teen drama in the vein of Riverdale or Gossip Girl. In it, a high school girl’s life is interrupted by a murder mystery that she needs to solve, if only to prove she isn’t the perpetrator herself. The plot is full of twists, turns, and scandals as it explores the social and academic pressures that many teen girls grapple with today.


Anger Is a Gift by Mark Oshiro

Building on the themes explored in The Hate U Give, Oshiro’s debut novel Anger Is a Gift follows a young black teen, Moss Jefferies, as he struggles with the racism and day-to-day emotional challenges in his overly policed, crumbling urban school. The characters are deeply written, woven with themes of police violence, reliving memories of a haunted past and moments of unexpected compassion and understanding.


Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

John Green is one of the most popular YA writers today and his books are frequent best sellers, so while this book was published last fall, there’s every indication this read will continue to be popular this school year. In Turtles All the Way Down, the main character, Aza, attempts to solve the mystery of a fugitive billionaire. As in most of Green’s books, the characters are complex yet relatable and the mystery has enough twists to keep even the most reluctant readers flipping to the next page.


Comments (4)Add Comment
For each book - its age
written by Linda S. Davis, September 11, 2018

Hello. Thanks for the selection.
You're right. In recent years, the line between the children's and young people's books has become very fuzzy. Many books written for children with pleasure read even adults. Remember the same Harry Potter. How many parents, even for the sake of interest, read about his adventures?
But, reading the literature that the teacher asks is not always received with joy by the students. And they too can be understood. Sometimes even a very interesting book is written in a language that is difficult to understand, and sometimes a child simply does not understand what the author wanted to say. And we, the parents, then take offense at them for the bad marks for the children's written expository essay
Always
written by Mike, August 31, 2018

The teacher always tries best so their students learn and become a good person in the life. The connerscornfieldmaze also hires few teachers who teach their students.
roblox game
written by robux generator, August 30, 2018

The http://rbxgenerator.com is a very amazing site for the free robux generation for the free roblox robux game to play free.
Great list of books!
written by Vickie, USA, August 29, 2018

Reading is very important part of studying certainly. But word of information technology growth rapidly.More and more students dream about job in this field. I help with making information technology resume for job searchers. If your order resume in my service you will impress future employers.

Submit a comment
 (not published)
smaller | bigger

busy